Millennial Writer Life
Millennial Writer Life
Juggling Fear and Hope During My Debut Year
1
0:00
-3:03

Juggling Fear and Hope During My Debut Year

My memoir, When They Tell You To Be Good, comes out this year.
1

I took a moment to ruminate on two BIG feelings I have at the beginning of my debut year. Writing can be a really hard industry to navigate, especially as a writer from a marginalized background, who is willing to REALLY write A LOT and is always waiting for the industry to catch up.

I have so many hopes for how I want to hold myself accountable and work to build resources and be candid with other writers out there.

Share


My debut memoir, WHEN THEY TELL YOU TO BE GOOD, comes out in October 2022 with Tin House Books. The memoir mines eras of queer identity, radicalization amidst and after Michael Brown’s murder by police, confronting legacies of violence in my Jamaican family, and asking deep questions about my father’s 1995 murder. To be notified when you can preorder, sign up here or below.

Book Preorder Notification

1 Comment
Millennial Writer Life
Millennial Writer Life
Resources and reflections on craft, the writing industry, and creative endurance from debut author, Prince Shakur.