Millennial Writer Life
Millennial Writer Life
Feeling Far Away From My Debut Year
0:00
-2:46

Feeling Far Away From My Debut Year

Writer Reflections #1

I’ve recently started learning more about newsletter writing through the Substack Go program and one thing that another writer suggested to me is that I find moments of pause and reflection on MWL. With that in mind, I’m going to use these audio posts as a way to reflect on the many complex feelings of being a queer, black debut author that has fought tooth and nail to get where I am.

This time, I chat about feeling far away from my debut year as an author because of the winter and more. If you want more MWL audio episodes like this one, let me know what topics you'd be interested in hearing me talk about. And share how the winter has been affecting you.

Leave a comment

As a debut author, I have an important ask of you for my memoir, When They Tell You To Be Good, which comes out with Tin House in October 2022 - support my book and sign up to be notified when you can preorder.

Black and white photo of black man standing in on a walkway in front of Brooklyn Bridge with his eyes closed, holding his hands in front of him.
Me during a trip to NYC in 2021.

Share


If you are a fan of MWL and wish to support it, please consider donating to the Patreon of the founder, Prince Shakur.

0 Comments
Millennial Writer Life
Millennial Writer Life
Resources and reflections on craft, the writing industry, and creative endurance from debut author, Prince Shakur.