Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
2

Facing Rejection As An Artist

2

Rejection is a harsh reality that every artist faces at some point. In this video, I share my personal journey through various rejections and how they've shaped me into the artist I am today. From high school setbacks to college struggles, and nearly losing my first book deal, I've encountered rejection in many forms. But through these experiences, I've learned valuable lessons about resilience, confidence, and self-acceptance.

VIDEO CHAPTERS

  • 00:00 INTRO + What Rejection Can Look Like

  • 05:20 - Isolation as a Sign of Rejection

  • 07:10 - My High School Rejection Story

  • 10:10 Not feeling good enough as an English major and writer in college

  • 14:48 Struggling to feel confident as a freelance journalist and writer

  • 18:24 My first book almost wasn't published??

  • 23:00 How insecurity made me wary of my book offer

  • 24:30 Why it can be good to name our fears around rejection

  • 25:35 - Grieving & Changing Perspectives on Rejection

  • 27:24 - Reflections as a Published Author

  • 31:49 Reminding myself how much I've done as a Black writer, organizer, and educator

  • 32:28 How to face REJECTION


Leave a comment

Discussion about this podcast

Millennial Writer Life
Millennial Writer Life
Resources and reflections on craft, the writing industry, and creative endurance from debut author, Prince Shakur.